/ Articles / Rhinelander Ascension RN receives DAISY Award

Rhinelander Ascension RN receives DAISY Award

July 03, 2020

Debi Riley, RN out of the Ascension Hospice Rhinelander Office, was recently honored with the second quarter DAISY Award.

About DAISY Foundation

The DAISY Foundation was established in 1999 by members of the family of Patrick Barnes. He was 33 years old and died of complications of the auto-immune disease ITP. Like many families going through this kind of horrific loss, the Barnes family wanted to do something positive to honor the very special man Patrick was. So, as they say, over a very “liquid” dinner right after Barnes’ death, they came up with DAISY-acronym for “Diseases Attacking the Immune System.” 

As they brainstormed what the DAISY Foundation would actually do, they kept coming back to the one positive thing they held on to during Barnes’ 8-week illness: the extraordinary care he and they received from Barnes’ nurses. The family was very impressed by the clinical care his nurses provided, but what really overwhelmed them was the compassion and kindness his nurses brought to Barnes’ bedside day in and day out. The nurses’ sensitivity made a great difference in the Barnes’ experience, and they wanted to say thank you to the nurses for the extraordinary care they provide patients and families every day. What started out as a thank you from their family to nurses has grown into a meaningful recognition program embraced by healthcare organizations around the world. We are very proud to partner with DAISY as we have extraordinary nurses here at Ascension at Home — Hospice.


The following individuals from other Ascension at Home offices were also nominated for the second quarter DAISY award:

Amanda Warwick

Autumn Vander Velden

Beth Constantino

Elizabeth Santos

Jenny Welch

Kathleen Orminski

Lindsay Loomis

Renesa Smith

Richard Domiter

Also recognized were numerous HIGH FIVE award nominations:

Bridget Robinson

Chris Kallerud

Cindy Kiesow

Elizabeth Edwards

Goldie Hamilton

Ina Stachewicz

Jane Bronk

Jen Van Nuland

Jennifer Laporte

Joy Nienhaus

Julie Dake

Kayla Webster

Kerry Kelley

Lorina Coates

Mark Ames

Mary Vandsteenderen

Pam Strasburg

Patty Volp

Rebecca Hanson

Rhinelander - Dr Kate Seasons of Life

Rhonda Collins

Sabrina Cortazzo

Sara Olkowski

Scott Leonhard

Seasons of life

Shannon Cromwell

Theresa Menutes

Trinisha Boland

In order to be nominated for the HIGH FIVE award, a person must consistently meet the following: must apply exceptional interpersonal skills with patients, families, peers, or colleagues; must demonstrate mutual trust, respect and emotional support to all; must make a significant difference and create a sense of community, generate enthusiasm and energy and; must listen not only with your ears, but also with your heart. HIGH FIVE Award recipients are celebrated for their continuous support of the mission, role-model behavior and compassionate presence in the work place.

Both DAISY and HIGH FIVE winners are chosen by a committee of colleagues from various departments and agencies. These nominations are submitted by associates, patients or patient families throughout the Ascension at Home agencies in Wisconsin.

Read This Next

{{ item.published_at | unix_to_date }}

{{ tag | uppercase}},

{{ item.title }}

{{ item.description | truncate(200) }}

See more latest news »

Stay Connected to the Northwoods

Learn what a subscription to the Lakeland Times offers you:

Subscribe Today »